Lessons from the Queen Bee!

IMG_2447 (2).JPG

Holy Cow! It is another year and time seems to bee flying by faster and quicker! Do you believe in New Year’s Resolutions or just day by day goals? As Queen Bee I am learning that sometimes it is hard to keep a New Year’s Resolution because for me it was always unmanageable. Do you experience the same problem? How do you handle it? I am learning to set goals instead because things change and situations crop up. This makes me feel much more accomplished because I can set different size goals and manage the time limit better. I often find myself thinking about how a true queen bee must feel; she has an entire hive that she has to take care of and is responsible for how it runs. The queen bee is able to delegate job duties and does not think about outside influences. I finally started taking the example of the queen bee and applied it to my life. Instead of trying to do a million things because I felt like I had to be super woman; I sit down and set goals and do not let other things influence my goals. What I have also been learning, over time, is that some things can wait until the next day; so I have learned to prioritize what is absolute for the day. Like the queen bee I am learning to focus on my hive.

We have been finding at The Honey Cottage that goal setting also works much better. Mother Nature does not work on our time table or the exact way we want her to. The weather, bees, and flowers have to all work together to produce an amazing honey. No flowers. No Honey. No rain. No honey. It is all interrelated and we have to work with what we are blessed with year to year. So we have learned that one of our best goals to set is to educate our customers on as much as we can about bees, flowers, and educating others. We love Facebook, BUT it is not as educational as it should be. We have been finding that the information that is passed around is all about getting attention and not based on facts. We believe at The Honey Cottage that working with beekeepers is the best way to get good honey as well as knowing that the bees are well taken care of properly. So another goal for us means that beekeepers have the same goals we have; saving the bees and taking proper care of them. Lastly, it is important that we all work together because taking care of them is a community effort. This is why one of our big goals is to bring in things that help the community help the bees. We are working on bringing in bee friendly seeds and doing more education on staying away from pesticides. Stay up with us and find out what we are doing.

From our bee hive to yours,

Queen Bee

 

Leave a Reply

