Honey Wheat Berries Salad

What is your favorite salad?

I really love this salad and it is probably one of my favorites!  The fruit, nuts, and nuttiness of the wheat berries just makes this salad sing in my mouth.  I do add a little more balsamic vinegar to this salad because I enjoy the sharp flavor with the fruit.  So, if you need the dressing to be lighter on the sharpness of vinegar only do 1 Tbsp. with the dressing.  You can also mix up the greens too to add a different flavor.  Sometimes I like to use spinach with the oak leaf or sometimes I will use spinach with romaine or sometimes I just use a spring mix.  Just depends on what is premade and available in the house. If you are using this salad for a meal later in the day make sure to put the dressing on the side in a separate container.  I hope you enjoy this salad as much as I do!!

Ingredients:

½ cup cooked wheat berries

1 cup chopped oak leaf lettuce

5 strawberries

7 grapes

¼ cup walnuts

¼ cup pecans

¼ cup feta cheese

2 Tbsp. Colorado Fireweed honey

1 ½ Tbsp. balsamic vinegar

Directions:

Take a cup of wheat berries and soak them overnight.  In the morning rinse them and add about 2 cups of water to the wheat berries, cover the pan with a lid, and cook for about 30- 45 minutes until they are soft and tender.  Drain the water and place in a bowl to cool.

Chop up a cup of lettuce and add it to a bowl.

Wash and cut up the strawberries and grapes into bite sized pieces and place on top of the lettuce.

Crush the walnuts and the pecans in a bag and add to the salad.

Add the feta cheese and the cooled wheat berries.

Mix together the honey and balsamic vinegar until thoroughly mixed and drizzle on top of the salad.

ENJOY!

Tips:

-Try the dressing with Honeyville’s cranberry orange whipped honey

-Add about ½ cup of shredded chicken

-Add about 5 small chunks of honeycomb

Buzzing by from,

Bee Queen’s Kitchen

Leave a comment